the powtoon portfolio…

A homework assignment saw the need for Mac to develop an ‘about me’ portfolio.  We talked about what he might want to include, what it is that is important to him about himself.

We nixed the idea of a poster and decided to use PowToon and their built in templates.  We picked the template, decided on an image to use and then put Mac’s words into the online program.  Some of the items Mac just gave me single words and we discussed how we could expand those ideas into sentences. We also talked about how to split that information across different slides for visual effect.

So if you were wondering just who Mac is… here’s what he thinks you need to know (audio description available below video).

)

AUDIO DESCRIPTION:
Coloured slides with image of blond cartoon boy.  Text reads:

Hello, my name is Mac Burns, I am 10 years old.
I am a son, brother, grandson, nephew, cousin, friend.
I’m a bit of a thinker; I like to listen and learn;
but I don’t say much… yet!
I use switches to speak and wheels to move.
I particularly love playing football and handball with my mates.
My favourite subject is maths
and I like learning about politics (with my Dad).
In my spare time I like to listen to music and books;
watch movies and TV;
learn new things on my computer;
and swim… I love to swim.
I really like funny things, stuff that makes me LAUGH.
I love my life.

Final text is accompanied by an image of a stick drawing of Mac in a wheelchair and a huge vertical ramp… click the following link to the blog post to find out more about this image.

http://inkyed.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/no-limits/

4 Comments

Filed under Accessing the Curriculum

4 responses to “the powtoon portfolio…

  1. Glenda Lee

    Good job well done Mac, made me smile :)

  2. I love this Mac! I love that you and your Dad talk politics together. Thanks Gina for sharing this program. Bron & Coop x

  3. Gina @ http://inkyed.wordpress.com

    Thanks guys, will pass your comments on to Macco when he gets home from school. Yes, Glenda…he definitely has that ability to make me smile too. Bron, Coops could have a bit of fun with powtoon I think.

Leave a Reply

