it’s a wrap

week one ‘in review’

All in all it was a pretty good week. Mac managed all five days of full time hours with only one day time nap (day one). Considering it was close to 40°C every day this was pretty impressive.

He has some wonderful kids in his class – keen to interact and assist Mac. They are learning how to Hi-5 him, ‘scruffle’ him up, to push him back up when he is tipping out of his beanbag. There is only one who doesn’t seem particularly happy with Mac being in the class… he “hates sitting near the stinky baby” – oh well, his loss – Mac couldn’t give a hoot.

Mac & his peers

PHOTO FROM THE LOCAL PAPER IN THE KINDERGARTEN PHOTO LIFT-OUT

We have been trying different pieces of equipment to see what works. I’ve realised Kindy kids spend a lot of time on the floor. We still haven’t quite worked out the best option there – because as quick as they are on the floor – they are back up again at their desks.

Mac’s hi-low chair is pretty good – just a bit bulky for the Kindy sized desks and doesn’t go quite low enough to fit in under the extra bits on the desk.

We will have to look at getting a hi-low base for indoors. Much less bulky but should accommodate him for most of his primary years. Any suggestions?

I look forward to getting this sorted out so I don’t have to ‘lug’ quite as many seats/chairs to and from school each day.

I like that his aide is understanding the beauty of the hi-low chair option. She understands how he is far more included when he is at the same height as those around him. When they stand – up he goes, when they sit – he goes down too.  A good indicator was a pic taken of Mac’s clsas for their newsletter.  Mac’s head was cut off – this isn’t necessarily an indication of a bad photographer – more that Mac isn’t positioned in an inclusive enough setting.  We will continue to improve I am sure.

I enjoyed collecting Mac on Friday – it was the end of his first week, the end of a successful week – I was in an upbeat mood. But of course someone is always there to bring you down. Obviously someone was miffed because I was in the accessible parking spot and left me a ‘narky note’ under my wiper. I admit, I don’t have a sticker – we have never used disabled parking spaces before and my appointment with the Doctor to get the forms signed isn’t until Tuesday. So, probably, I shouldn’t have been there but I was parking where I was told to by the Head Mistress. If I didn’t have three chairs, a school bag and a child with a disability to get to the car – do you think I would need the spot? I know I am at fault because I don’t have a sticker – but please, can’t we all just be a little nicer and at least put a ‘disclaimer’ on our “narky notes” reminding people to put their stickers up or imploring them to get their stickers if they are eligible. I drives me crazy I have to see a Doctor about a ‘mobility’ issue (what a waste of their and my time) but that is another rant for another time.

All in all it was a good week. 


Thankfully this week is cool and wet – a nice change. Hmmm, Mac doesn’t have a jumper – must get on to that one soon. He has long sleeve shirts (and arm warmers if need be) – they will suffice for now.

Leave a comment

Filed under kindergarten at last

Leave a Reply

