when I grow up…

I finally got round to asking Mac if he knows what he wants to be when he grows up.   I’ve always told him jokingly that he will need to get himself a good job since all the ‘disability’ things he needs are so expensive.

It was a fun conversation, it went like this…

GINA: So, Macco, do you know what you want to be when you grow up?

MAC: yes

GINA: Do you think you could tell me somehow?

MAC: yes

GINA: Could you spell what you want to be using the Macaw?

MAC: yes

MAC: (using Macaw) d – a – d

GINA: Do  you want to be LIKE Dad?

MAC: yes

GINA: So, do you want to be a teacher/ lecturer like Dad?

MAC: yes

GINA: Do you want to be a teacher at school?

MAC: no

GINA: Do you want to be a teacher at University?

MAC: yes

GINA: Do you want to teach the same thing as Dad?

MAC: I don’t know

GINA: Do you want to teach Journalism like Dad?

MAC: yes

GINA: Or, do you want to teach Maths?

MAC: yes

GINA: Is there anything else you might like to teach?

MAC: no

GINA: So, you want to be either a Maths Lecturer or a Journalism Lecturer at University?

MAC: yes

They sound like pretty good choices to me.

We also talked about the other obvious option from the above conversation about Mac maybe wanting to ‘BE A Dad’.  He agreed he would like to be a Dad one day.  He has been very inspired by Tania at TandemMaster who is a Mum who happens to have quite significant CP, and who uses Morse Code for her communication and access.  I used some of Tania’s stories with Mac when I started talking to him about morse code – seems there was more for him to learn than I imagined.  Tania has been a great help to us offering advice as we move forward with the morse code option for Mac.

Here’s a news story just after Tania gave birth to her son Michael

And here’s the TandemMaster in action.  We have applied for a Tandem Master for Mac to use at school.  Hopefully it will get approved, in the grand scheme of disability equipment it is on the ‘cheap side’ at less than USD$500.

As many people have proven to me, not the least of them being Mac, anything’s possible.

10 Comments

Filed under Access all Areas, things that make me go "glll"

10 responses to “when I grow up…

  1. Excellent conversation!

    Would love to watch the 2 films at some time or another.

    I too think journalism and maths are good choices.

  2. PS I really enjoyed reading about Tania and her going down the river: white water rafting.

    There are at least several Australian stories about being a Dad with disabilities.

  3. Gina

    Adelaide, do you need the embedded video links in a different format (eg actual links)? Let me know if I can help.
    Gina

  4. Those videos are amazing. Thats some great career aspirations that Mac has. Moo still wants to be a jedi when he grows up.

  5. Gina

    Ha Ha Jac – Jedi is a cool career path. I think it’s lightsaber that brings Mac undone there – just doesn’t make the job half as exciting when you can’t hold/swipe/slice with it yourself I guess.

  6. Kim (Harrys Mum)

    Fingers crossed for the funding. There is hope we have had a seating system funded that allows for finger tip movement from floor to table. Something I fully expected to have to figh for especially as it wasn’t the base model and around $9000. Even better it should turn up on Monday. Yes that is equipment funded and supplied in about 2 terms, DET NSW must be setting a new speed record in our district. Either that or it was the physio ringing every fortnight 😉

  7. Gina

    Kim
    Sounds great. What chair did you go for in the classroom – we are still trying to find something ‘suitable’.

  8. Kim (Harrys Mum)

    We are getting a mygo leckey with the hi-lo base. I am trying to get the eye 2 eye head support for home. I would have loved that for school but I think they may have bawked at the $2000 (about) price tag.

  9. On the off chance that the TandemMaster doesn’t get approved for Mac, you might want to contact your favourite blog mistress about sponsorship … being as you’re good Mac lovers and all 🙂 Just hypothetically…

  10. Oh, and Jacqui I’m 35 and I still want to be a Jedi when I grow up! I think Moo sounds eminently sensible 🙂

    r

Leave a Reply

