i’m back,

After spending last week at the Inclusive Technology Conference run by Spectronics I am officially in brain overload.

There were some excellent sessions, some ordinary and some downright awful – but overall the conference was worth attending and I would consider going again.

The week has given me tonnes of “new ideas”… some came from the conference, some from my ‘room-mate’ (a mum of a very accomplished AAC user), some from being immersed in that thinking space for four days in a row and some from just being able to step back and look at the big picture.

I am now needing to find some time to work out how to add some opportunities in our day such as these as a starting point…

  • model using the AAC device with Mac (ie use it to communicate with him to help demonstrate the steps)
  • incorporate more opportunities for social chit-chat for Mac
  • teach Mac how to play tic-tac-toe, checkers, backgammon & chess
  • get Mac to start writing his lunch orders (ie requests for me to make) on the weekend
  • assess/trial about ten different software programs I like the look of
  • read about 20 books/research papers that peaked my interest

I’ll be sure to post more detailed information on the conference in general, and individual sessions, now I am home, unpacked and back in ‘school mum mode’.

1 Comment

Filed under Inclusion... straight up!

One response to “i’m back,

  1. So happy you went to Spectronics conference.

    Many are good ideas, including the games and lunch orders.

    (What does Mac like at the Canteen?)

Leave a Reply

