can Stephen Hawking spell ‘catalogue’?

School assembly had finished, I was waiting for the bell to ring – but had that funny feeling I was being watched.

I saw her out of the corner of my eye – she seemed to be waiting.  “Does she want me” I wondered.  I didn’t recognise her but made eye contact all the same… just in case.

She quietly approached, her face looking very serious and spoke to me, almost whispering…  “Hello, I’m Caitlyn M.  My sister Maddy went to pre-school with Mac – I saw Mac graduate pre-school”.

It worked out the relationship and who this young girl was.  “Oh yes, I knew Maddy” I told her, “she’s a year younger, right?” Cailtyn nodded.

“Well, I think that Mac might grow up to be a scientist.” she added (still very sincere)

“Because, well, there’s a very smart man who is in a wheelchair and uses a computer and he is a very, very good scientist.  I think Mac might be going to be like him because ‘catalogue’ is a very, very, very hard word to spell.

“You might be right” I concurred “who knows what the future holds”.

Look out Stephen… Caitlin thinks you might have a rival in the making – better hone your spelling bee skills.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Access all Areas, Accessing the Curriculum, Inclusion... straight up!

7 responses to “can Stephen Hawking spell ‘catalogue’?

  1. Claire

    I think Stephen Hawking has also had the most cameos on The Simpsons and Futarama than anyone one else. I hope Mac gets to star in the best cartoon around when he’s a scientist too.

  2. And Hawking is good at admitting when he might be wrong or when the science isn’t enough.

    (Wow. Caitlyn knows how to recognise potential, and that is a great skill!)

    I wonder if you are reading George and the Key to the Universe at the moment.

    What makes Hawking cool in my eyes? Probably the fact that he left Oxford because all they were doing was sunspots. They certainly weren’t equipped for singularities!

    And he suggests we avoid aliens.

  3. Mac! you are awesome! I am so proud of your spelling, that is amazing! good on you 🙂 I look forward to following your journey and seeing what a difference you will make in this world.

  4. Gina

    Thanks Guys

    Adelaide, I didn’t have those books but as I accidently signed up to Audible.com a couple of months ago had some credits so was able to download the audiobooks for both the ‘George’ books. Thanks for the heads up – they are syncing to Mac’s iPhone as I type.
    Gina

  5. Audio is fantastic, as the impact of the George books depends a great deal on illustration. If they were adequately described, Mac could well enjoy them and use his imagination. (As well as the added benefits of attention and concentration…)

    The one on black holes and singularities will come out (most probably) early next year.

  6. Oh, that’s so sweet.

    And really, catalogue should be more sensibly spelt ‘catalog’ as it often is in the U.S.

  7. That’s the dilemma I’ve had with programme.

    The style guide of my girlhood would say “program” only for TV and computers. As in, “I like to write my computer program in BASIC”.

    But the British spelling prevailed with fields like music and art.

    And I am trying to convince myself that dilemma has two Ms and not a M and an N.

Leave a Reply

