an ‘app’ a day

Arriving in my inbox this evening was news of Predictable a switch access alternative & augmentative communication aid available in the iTunes app store for iPad and iPhone users.

The email claims Predictable offers:

  • Voice output – including 2 Australian voices
  • Switch access
  • Sophisticated predictive text engine
  • Choice of keyboard
  • Phrase bank
  • Back ups
  • Email and facebook links

I haven’t looked into it in any depth but on the surface it appears a very interesting ‘app with potential’.  I particularly like the idea that some editing can be done in Excel restored to the device.

I have requested information about their ‘bluetooth switch interface’ and will share as soon as they get back to me.

Switch Access for the iDevices are starting to make them even more attractive than they were initially but at AUD$199 I will have to save my pennies for a little longer before I am able to test drive it.

UPDATE ON SWITCH ACCESS

Predictable uses the RJ Cooper Switch Interface.

Click the Info button to check it out.

2 Comments

Filed under Access all Areas

2 responses to “an ‘app’ a day

  1. I will be interested to find out about this application’s use of Bluetooth.

    Now this “Predictable” will have some unpredictable effects!

    And oh! The things I have seen on IPhones, which may not be entirely suitable for work or for public places.

    Predictable seems to be good for phrase-based communication, and the screen for social communication is great.

    (Perhaps before the end of the school year it might go down to $99. I admit to not worrying so much about the cost as to the megabytes and hopefully it won’t slow down the IPhone/IPad).

    What’s the difference between “Stuff I say all the time” and “My stuff”? The rest of the menu looks fairly self-explanatory.

  2. Oooh! Looks interesting. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

