fridge magnet friday

There’s been times in the last nine years I have found myself frustrated by the lack of progress towards a truly inclusive society.  I found myself wondering how, after students started being included some 50+ years ago, it still seems like some ‘crazy, new age ideal’ to many families, educators and service providers.

How can it be that social change doesn’t appear to be permanent I pondered.  Why does one student make it through the gates for an inclusive life… only to see those gates close quickly behind.

Then I saw this comment via Twitter… and it all became a little clearer.

CLICK LINK TO ENLARGE

The notion of a relay makes perfect sense.  The baton has been passed by the true trailblazers of 50+ years ago to our generation.  We get to choose what we wish to add to our communities.  We decide if we want people with disabilities to live in a disempowering charity based society model… or a truly inclusive society where everyone is valued.

I am now more comfortable with the notion that perhaps my role won’t be done any time soon… but I am confident we owe much to those who fought for social justice in the 1950s up until now, our fights have been easier, acceptance is quicker… we are in OK shape, we will get there.

3 Comments

Filed under fridge magnet friday, Inclusion... straight up!, the big picture

3 responses to “fridge magnet friday

  1. Glenda Lee

    When I first saw that fridge magnet I realised that it was right. And even tho I knew things weren’t gonna be all ok in my lifetime I was at the same time, pissed off about it. After all I have been working at this for 43 of my 56 years alive. So I was feeling really discouraged and disappointed at the forward and backward of the progress. And the grinding slowness and the stupidity and arrogance of those in opposition (or at the least don’t care attitude).

    And as I have become friends with many younger parents of kids with disabilities I have been SO heartened by you all. You and your kids. It was then over these past few years that I knew it would be all right. And then I saw the magnet and had the word to clarify. It’s a RELAY. And I am tired and have run my section and I have run it well.

    I pass the torch! 🙂

  2. Relay is a great analogy. After 17 years, some days (years) I’ve been so battle-weary I wonder how I can fight through another day, let alone my son. But we’ve brought him up well. He has spirit and guts. He talks NDIS at meetings, he talks straight to pollies, he’s pretty cool with a microphone. He EXPECTS the world to accommodate his needs and he knows with that expectation he has to take responsibility. Our kids are have a bright future ahead. And the way ahead has been paved by people with disability, whom we thank.

  3. Gina @ https://inkyed.wordpress.com

    Thank you Glenda for all you have done and Fiona and Sandy for taking the baton and blazing ahead. I find this relay concept helps me not lose heart. It also motivates me to keep doing my bit and know that it will be that bit easier for those following on behind. Sadly too many families are still buying into segregated settings, special programs, support units, day programs etc… it is a hard mindset to change.

Leave a Reply

