thankful

CLICK IMAGE TO WATCH VIDEO

I showed this video to Mac today and asked him for one ‘describing word’ to tell me how it made him feel…

“thankful”

was his response – not quite understanding I pressed for more information…

“thankful to know you will help me”

awwww shucks, with slight watery sensation in my eyes can I just say “my kid is awesome”.

In this moment I can honestly say if he never types, taps or says “I love you” I don’t think I could care less.

To know he wants & needs my help – and is confident I will be there for him – means more than any old ‘love you Mum’ he might offer up at some stage in the next 50+ years.

That’s not to say I plan to be a “needy Mum” where I end up in that ‘icky’ place where I am needing him to need me.

I have full intentions of ensuring there are plenty of people around to ‘help him’ – particularly if he plans on doing a PhD via Morse Code à la Dr. Kristin Rytter… thanks Kristin for your inspiration (I think ;-))

 

4 Comments

Filed under Accessing the Curriculum, Inclusion... straight up!, the big picture

4 responses to “thankful

  1. Brasil

    Moving and powerful! You’ve certainly got a way of reaching people that I haven’t seen very often. If most people wrote about this subject with the eloquence that you just did, I’m sure people would do much more than just read they act. Great stuff. Please keep it up.

  2. You will definitely be there, I’m sure of that. My wife and partner, Marjorie, and I have a daughter who’s now 47 (born during Marjorie’s previous marriage) and is autistic. She started out life with a great deal of difficulty — there was no school who’d have her. And this was the era of blaming the Mom, a la Bruno Bettelheim and his ilk. Anyway, Nicole has grown up to do great things; she works 20-30 hours a week, has been promoted in her job. She saved one of her “wheelchair clients” recently due to her keen ability to observe and understand and empathize. She is highly creative and is an all around wonderful woman. And Marjorie has steadfastly given her unconditional love and support all the while, as I’m sure you will too.
    Marty

  3. Gina @ https://inkyed.wordpress.com

    Thanks Marty
    I think you are right – there is greatness in every person… when given the chance to blossom.
    Thanks for dropping by.
    Gina

  4. Wait, I cannot fathom it being so stiwoghtfrraard.

Leave a comment